December 7, 2023

News Extra

Going Extra Miles for excellent reportage

Buhari Inaugurates New Six  INEC Commissioners

2 min read

President Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in six new National Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Those sworn-in were Mohammed Haruna (Niger State); Mrs Agbamuche Mbu (Delta); Okeagu Nnamdi (Abia); Major General Abubakar Alkali (Rtd.) (Adamawa); Professor Rada Gumus (Bayelsa); and Sam Elumeku (Ogun).

In attendance at the brief swearing-in ceremony, which took place at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja, were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, President of the Senate, Senator Ahmad Lawan and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila.

Also present at the inauguration ceremony were the Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha; the Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari; the National Security Adviser (NSA), Major General Babagana Monguno (Rtd); and some of the Ministers scheduled to attend the weekly virtual Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

INEC’s best

Speaking to State House reporters after the swearing-in ceremony, Chairman of INEC, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, said Nigerians should expect the best out of INEC now that the commission has the full complement of its commissioners.

“Well, it’s a good day for the Commission, with the swearing-in of the six National Commissioners, we have the full complements of 12 National Commissioners.

“It’s coming three days to by-elections in four states of the Federation and as we plan for the Ekiti and Osun governorship elections.

“As we continue to prepare for the 2023 general elections, we will go on firing on all cylinders now that we have the full complement of commissioners and Nigerians should expect the best out of the Commission,” he said.

Buhari presides

Meanwhile, the President is presiding over the virtual FEC meeting immediately after the ceremony.

The ministers who are in attendance at the meeting are Hon. Chibuike Amaechi (Transportation); Alhaji Lai Mohammed (Information and Culture); Senator Chris Ngige (Labour and Employment), Festus Keyamo (Minister of State, Labour and Employment), Dr Ogbonnaya Onu (Science and Technology Innovation), his state counterpart Mohammed Abdullahi; Uchechukwu Ogar (State, Mines and Steel Development); Olamilekan Adegbite (Mines and Steel); Abubakar Aliyu (Minister of Power) and his state counterpart Jeddy Agba; Babatunde Fashola (Works and Housing); Clement Agba (Minister of State Budget and National Planning).

The Head of Service, Folashade Yemi-Esan and Other ministers were attending the meeting virtually from their various offices in Abuja.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *